Government and Politics in Tripura

map of tripura

  • Tripura is governed through a parliamentary system.
  • Tripura government has 3 branches: executive, legislature and judiciary.
  • Assembly meetings are presided over by Speaker or Deputy Speaker (in absence of Speaker).
  • Assembly is unicameral with 60 MLA for five years term.
  • Judiciary composed of Tripura High Court and lower courts.
  • Governor is head of the state, appointed by President
  • governor appoints chief minister
  • council of ministers are headed by chief minister.
  • Council of ministers are appointed by governor on the advice of chief minister
Check Page Rank